Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

December 4, 2024

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Johnson, and Minority Leader Jeffries:

Expanded Medicare coverage for telehealth services is set to expire on December 31, 2024. As you work to advance a year-end appropriations package, we urge you to extend coverage as much as possible so that all Medicare beneficiaries retain access to these services.

Telehealth plays a critical role in health care delivery – a fact that Congress has recognized by expanding coverage during and after the COVID-19 public health emergency. Most recently, in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023, Congress enacted a two-year extension of Medicare telehealth services coverage. Committees of jurisdiction in the House of Representatives have recently recognized the need to protect patients' access to telehealth services by voting to advance an additional two-year extension on a bipartisan, unanimous basis.

We ask you to prioritize provisions that remove geographic restrictions on telehealth services and permit the home and other clinically appropriate settings as originating sites. Congress should also expand the authority for practitioners eligible to furnish telehealth services. Rural and underserved communities rely on telehealth services¹, and Congress should recognize federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics as telehealth distant site providers. Additionally, Congress should allow the use of telehealth in the recertification of hospice care. Finally, telehealth has transformed mental and behavioral health care, now accounting for 40 percent of telehealth services provided under the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule.² Therefore, Congress should permanently repeal the six-month in-person visit requirement for telemental health services. It should also reject similar policies that create barriers to care.

¹ Brian O'Donnell, Ledia Tabor, "Telehealth in Medicare: Status Report" (presentation, Advising the Congress on Medicare Issues, April 11, 2024."

² Ibid

Telehealth provides essential access to care and improves outcomes, including reduced emergency department utilization and improved medication adherence.³ Medicare beneficiaries have come to rely on expanded access to telehealth services and are satisfied with the care they receive.⁴ While there is overwhelming support for Congress to enact permanent telehealth legislation, we must provide patients and clinicians with long-term certainty to support continued investment in technology and clinical models to meet the evolving health care needs of Medicare beneficiaries. We appreciate your collaboration and leadership on this issue and look forward to working with you to ensure access to telehealth services is retained by the end of 2024.

Sincerely,

Brian Schatz United States Senator

Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

pin de

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

he Show

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

David Schweikert Member of Congress

Jon's Matsu

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

³ Carter H. Nakamoto, David M. Cutler, Nancy D. Beaulieu, Lori Uscher-Pines, and Ateev Mehrotra. "The Impact Of Telemedicine On Medicare Utilization, Spending, And Quality, 2019–22." *Health Affairs* 43, no. 5 (April 2024): 691-700, https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2023.01142.

⁴ Brian O'Donnell, Ledia Tabor, "Telehealth in Medicare: Status Report" (presentation, Advising the Congress on Medicare Issues, April 11, 2024."

Mark R Wines

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

ichar A Stamin

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Joe Manchin III United States Senator

Cillibro Kintin

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

earne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

n

Tina Smith United States Senator

n Borgman

John Boozman United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

Bill Cassidy, M.D. United States Senator

Shilly Mone apito

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Il:

Thom Tillis United States Senator

Markwayne Mullin United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Ben Ray La

Ben Ray Luján United States Senator

titelch

Peter Welch United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Tammy Virekwatt

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Clab

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Jusan M Collins

Susan M. Collins United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

war

Deb Fischer United States Senator

M. Muchal

Mike Rounds United States Senator

Ka

Lindsey O. Graham United States Senator

Kurbowske

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

Eur Sulli

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

R., UNWS

Raphael Warnock United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

A. I

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

Klahch

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Tobir

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

d. Pario

Danny K. Cavis Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Mille Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

ie Dingell

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

ald C. Cannol

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Grace & Magolitano Grace F. Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

halms

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Member of Congress

Bolden

ared Golden Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Avide J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Kel (1)

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

m

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Miran

Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

mai hai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

som

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

and Dellate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Pocan

Member of Congress

Magazine

Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

uo

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

1 Ell

Mike Ezell Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

- hra

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Eleano H. Novton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

fauld.toxles

Paul Tonko Member of Congress